Roath Local History Society, in partnership with the Cardiff Story Museum, are currently holding a five-month exhibition on the theme of A History of the Mackintosh Estate.
For the past six months members of the Roath Local History Society have been working with the Cardiff Story museum to assemble the exhibition on the development of the Mackintosh estate in Plasnewydd.
Alfred Donald Mackintosh was born at Moy Hall near Inverness in 1851 and became the 28th Chief of the Clan Mackintosh in 1876. In 1880 he married Harriet Diana Arabella Richards, heiress to the Richards estate at Plasnewydd and other estates in Glamorgan.
Many of these names will be familiar to the residents as street names in the area following the development of the housing estate surrounding Albany Road from 1881. These links with the past are explored in some detail in the exhibition.
Today the original house, built around 1780 and now a Grade II listed building, form part of the Macintosh Sports Club and Community Centre, whose activities both past and present are presented on a series of eight presentation panels and two showcases.
The Society published a Short History of the Mackintosh Estate in 2005 and more recently, Roath, Splott and Adamsdown: one thousand years of history. Both have been written by Jeff Childs, vice-chairman of the Society and are available from local bookshops.
This is being held at the City Lab on the lower ground floor of the Old Library on the Hayes. The exhibition continues until the end of October.
New members of the Society are always welcome and contact details and a list of forthcoming meetings can be found on the Society’s website.